Libraries are dynamic entities. Parts of it come and go and inevitably items need to be withdrawn either because they are damaged, are out of date or lost.
Such items are not deleted! They are an important part of annual summary calculations, for one. Also, occasionally lost items miraculously re-appear – in Athenaeum you can return them to the catalog at a click of a button.
note: that catalogue copies that are currently issued can not be archived - they must first be returned
The catalogue archive list is a list of copies, not titles.
To see the detail of the copy in the archive list, click the detail button.
You can do this from the main catalogue (that is, the list of titles) or from the copy list.
Find the title or item in the catalogue and show the title's detail screen.
Use the quick dispose ("lost"; "withdrawn"; "damaged") or dispose buttons to send an item to the archive.
The first three options set a generic reason: Lost, Withdrawn or Damaged. The next two will prompt you to enter a more descriptive reason.
If you are archiving an item, and it is the only copy of the title, then the title will be removed from the catalogue as well. If you wish to keep the title in the catalogue with no copies, then always use the "keep title" option.
Find the item in the copy list and click the "process" button
Choose to archive or archive and keep title as before. Each of these options will prompt you for a reason. Note that the options include the bar code that will be archived, just to be clear which copy will be archived.
To bulk archive, you must be viewing the items in the COPIES list rather than the titles list.
Find the items you wish to archive in the copies list. Verify the number of items with the found set numbers at the top left of the screen.
Click the utility button and choose "bulk archive x copies".
￼ Confirm the archive action by entering the reason for the disposal and clicking the archive button.
Navigate to the Archive ("r" single key shortcut is often the quickest way) and locate the item in question either by scrolling or by finding in the normal manner.
Click the Restore button
When you archive or restore an item, Athenaeum adds entries to the system log. Also, when you delete an archived item (permanently removing the record from Athenaeum), that action is also recorded in the log.
Furthermore, archiving or restoring is recorded in a "movements" table.
one reason FileMaker did it this way is because if an attached document in the database is itself a FileMaker database, FileMaker Server would have otherwise tried to open that file along with the other files, which would lead to all sorts of mischief. So FileMaker Inc. designed FileMaker Server to not look more than two folder levels deep when looking for files to open. Confusing, but clever. ↩↩↩↩↩↩↩↩↩↩
the popular link that used to be in the navbar is now deprecated and replaced by the optional custom lists menu. If necessary, it can be re-instated with a "navbar=" or a custom "widget=" blog post. ↩↩↩
© 1996-2021 Athenaeum Library Software (Sumware Consulting) Contact Us